Not Fair!

Confession. I like rap music. I like hip hop. I can’t help but get jiggy when Lady Gaga or Puff Daddy, I mean P Diddy, I mean Diddy-Dirty Money comes on. So recently, while cruising in my sweet ride…I flipped on a local station and caught the middle of the song “Grenade” by Bruno Mars (yes, I had to Google that to figure it out).

Here is the part that caught my attention:

I’d catch a grenade for ya (yeah, yeah, yeah)
Throw my hand on a blade for ya (yeah, yeah, yeah)
I’d jump in front of a train for ya (yeah, yeah , yeah)
You know I’d do anything for ya (yeah, yeah, yeah)
Oh, oh
I would go through all this pain,
Take a bullet straight through my brain,
Yes, I would die for ya baby;
But you won’t do the same

As I drove, like a lightening bolt it hit me. Then, believe it or not, I heard Jesus rapping those lyrics straight at me as truth of his love and grace for me, with a poignant question at the end.

Todd, I’d catch a grenade for ya…you know it’s true because I already died for ya…I went through all this pain for ya…but are you willing to do the same?

It’s not fair. The God of the universe allowed his Son to be broken and spilled for me and often my response is:

I’m busy.
Here’s 4.3% of my income (net, not gross).
The Bible isn’t as funny as Modern Family.
I serve, by helping with the dishes once in a while.
I’m sure Sunday School is training my children in the ways of the Lord.
What really qualifies as sin anyway?

Be honest. Can you relate? These words in rhyme (while not intended for this purpose and a bit crass) reflect exactly what Jesus did for us. How can we respond to the power of Jesus’ life, death and resurrection?

As we continue this week heading into Good Friday and Easter, may we pray for the kind of faith that compels us to obedience. The kind of obedience that would trade our lives for our Lord and Savior…after all, he traded his life for ours.

“And he died for all, that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised.” – 2 Corinthians 5:15 ESV

–For something completely different and the heart of what I’m talking about THE GOSPEL, check out this video:

Leave a Reply

