What Are You Afraid Of?

I like questions – I like asking questions and I like being asked questions. My son recently asked me how light works. My reply included something about gases and electricity and bulbs. This quickly turned into a back and forth about wires and positive/neutral wiring and lightening (he is six). Eventually attempting to dodge any more questions that would reveal how little I know, I pulled the dad card saying, “God made it work that way, I know it’s like magic huh?”

I love questions.

The most powerful question I’ve ever been asked is “What are you afraid of?” It came at a time of great change in my life. At first my response was to blow off the question – then I conceded to a surface-level shallow answer; uh, lions?

I began to journal in order to answer the question. Cyberspace doesn’t have the room to store my lists and rants and responses.

When I look back at this list, I’m amazed at how deeply rooted fear can be, and how quickly we dismiss it as irrelevant in our daily lives. The reality is it’s entrenched in my life, woven into my DNA and I don’t have a map to know where the landmines are.

Today I find myself walking with this profound question…

What am I afraid of?

It rolls into a litany of thoughts – why, what’s the worst that could happen, how can I deal with that, what will happen, how do I fix it, who won’t like it, who will it hurt, and on it goes. Each time it appears, it focuses me back to take those fears into my prayer life.

A few months ago I was in the midst of a huge church Christmas production with hundreds of volunteers, dozens of staff, acting, original music, technical arts, wrangling almost a hundred kids, costumes, hair, makeup, parking and presenting the Gospel to more than 4,000 people. I had a lot to fear. Our family was working to close on purchasing a short-sale house (it closed 3 days after the last performance). I had a lot to fear. Then it had a roof leak, sopping wet drywall, and on it went. I had a lot to fear. My kids are growing up too fast. I have a lot to fear. I’m getting older and don’t really have retirement savings. I have a lot to fear. Maybe I stop and look around the world and realize I shouldn’t have so much to fear, when I have so much. So, I fear others judging me for my fear.

We all have a stream of fears that runs beneath the surface of our lives.

Do you have a lot to fear? Even a little? I implore you to seek clarity and focus by talking to God and walking with God on this question of “What are you afraid of?” As I walk with the Lord, He reminds me that in Him I have nothing to fear as He wraps His loving arms around me in love. He swallows me with wings of grace, burying my earthly fears – revealing my eternal hope.

So the question for you is, what are you afraid of?

The Lord is my light and my salvation – so why should I be afraid? The Lord is my fortress, protecting me from danger, so why should I tremble? <Psalm 27:1 NLT>

3 thoughts on “What Are You Afraid Of?

  1. What am I afraid of ? This question has taken me deep in reflection.
    My personal fear is coming from childhood roots
    “The fear of not having a voice “

Leave a Reply

