One.

Today marks the one year anniversary of my blog. I set out on this journey of having a blog with the hope of discovering my voice as a writer. My first post on October 22, 2010 shared my vision for A Second Taste and the power found in savoring the beauty of the moment.

I’ve learned a lot. I’ve started to find my voice as a writer (maybe even my voices). I’ve even honed my craft. Most importantly I’ve fallen in the love with the labor of writing which is a lot like digging a hole, filling it in and digging the same hole again…only to wonder why I’m digging in the first place.

But I love it (ok, sometimes I hate it too…but I love it).

In honor of the one year anniversary I’d like to share three previous posts and launch this blog in a slightly different direction.

Don’t Miss ‘Em Posts
My most popular post was Mustache March. Funny, because I almost didn’t write that post at all. If you haven’t read it (or done Mustache March or No Shave November…you should).

My most viewed post in one day was The Parking Lot Predicament. It was also recently selected to be published in a book of short stories on God turning life’s lemons in to lemonade.

My favorite post was Popcorn. I don’t know why, but I love the over indulgence of words and imagery to illustrate simplicity. I like the ironic and messing with people, so writing something using “fluttery winsome” language to engage with the simple is fun (even if not many people read it or get it).

A Second Taste (a second time)
This blog will continue to be a place for me to find my voice, test ideas, hone my craft and share with the world (or whoever reads blogs) what God is doing in me. I’m discovering the great power of finding the Divine in the present moment.

So, going forward I hope to focus more on sharing my journey of self-discovery as I taste the moments before me. In so doing I hope to discover what beauty may lie ahead. I hope you’ll continue the journey with me.

As always, I hope you will share this with your friends and family and my prayer is that together we can develop an eye for God’s beauty in the present moment. Thanks for a great year!

Leave a Reply

