Missing Christmas Part Two

This is Part Two in my Missing Christmas series. You can read Part One here.

I love Christmas and I don’t want you to miss it. God wants to give you three special gifts this Christmas. If you don’t want to miss Christmas, you need to receive three gifts. These gifts of Christmas are found in the person of Jesus. Yes, the baby born 2,000 years ago. The one who gives us the ability to give in the first place.

I’m constantly telling my kids, “Don’t miss it!” Whether it be a fighter jet over Camp Pendleton, an incredible sunset or a bunny darting through the bushes. There is something within me driving me to be attentive and not miss out. Can you relate? What do you hate to miss? Maybe it’s your favorite TV show or an old friend. I think everyone can relate to the feeling of missing out.

So, when it comes to the idea of missing Christmas, I get nervous. I get a bit tense and concerned. I wonder, are some of us missing Christmas?

Hope.
Do you know this one? Silent Night, Holy Night… I’m sure you do. Right now you have the melody in your head, don’t you? These words have been sung by millions and share part of the Christmas story in song. Silent Night reminds us that in a world of ups and downs with the hustle and bustle of the season, we can receive the gift of hope.

Hope is a word that can be over-used during the holiday season leaving us without even a hint of its true meaning. We find it hanging on our Christmas trees as an ornament and wrapped around our packages. But does it resonate in our lives, exist in our hearts and show up in our actions?

Most of the time we talk about hope in the form of an expectation. We use statements like, “ I hope I get a raise” or “I hope my team wins the game” even “ I hope this year I get that new fangled piece of technology that I know will make life better.” We use hope with expectation but not with certainty or conviction. We use hope more like a “wish list” word, not even considering in whom or what we are placing our hope.

Where do you place your hope?

We can have hope when we believe that Jesus lives. He was born to the virgin Mary, proclaimed Savior by some shepherds and worshiped by the Magi. No person or thing could keep Him down, He has complete power over life and death, and He lives. It is because Jesus lives that we can have this hope, hope that no problem we face is outside of His control and guidance. No matter what life brings us, our hope in Jesus is unstoppable because we believe in the life He lived and lives among us.

If you believe in your heart and confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord, then you will have hope because Jesus is with you. You will have hope that as you seek Him you will find Him, that when you call on His name He will answer. When life seems out of control or upside down, you will have hope that God deeply loves you and has provided that love in the form of His son…Jesus.

Whatever is happening in your life this Christmas season, the wondrous hope found in Jesus’ love is the best present you could possibly receive. No matter how confused our lives become, when our hope is found in Jesus Christ, truly “all is calm, all is bright.”

One thought on “Missing Christmas Part Two

  1. Pingback: Missing Christmas Part Three « A Second Taste

Leave a Reply

