The Hole.

When I was a kid, my dad used to sing this song to us. It always started with him sauntering over to the piano like he knew a million tunes (he knew only this one). Each of us kids had already discerned what would come next. A few big chords, a quick march up the scale and then…the sing-song beat accompanied by these words:

There’s a hole in the bottom of the sea,
There’s a hole in the bottom of the sea,
There’s a hole, there’s a hole,
There’s a hole in the bottom of the sea.

It would continue, adding items progressively more ridiculous on top of that hole. Then it ends with a big finish of tongue twisters:

So let’s flick the fleck, brush the speck, twist the tail, chase the frog, flatten the bump, break the branch, burn the log, fill the hole in the bottom of the sea
Because we need it like a hole in the sea.
See?

Depending on “your” version, the lyrics vary and differ. That’s part of the fun; making up your own words and scenarios. The truth is, this silly children’s song draws a clear parallel to my life. I feel the “hole in the bottom of my sea” and I try to fill it with the most random items. I’ve tried work and success. I’ve tried helping others. I’ve tried fantasizing and lust. I’ve tried TV and the internet. I’ve even tried church.

In the end, all I have is a ridiculous song. I don’t want to fill the holes in my life with junk. I don’t want to fill the holes in my life with great stuff for junk reasons. I want to understand my holes, their ins and outs, holding them up to the light of God’s glory.

How about you? Do you recognize any “holes” in your life? What do you fill them with? Work, success, fantasy, alcohol, TV? It’s the same as logs, branches, bumps, frogs, tails, specks or flecks. It’s useless. Ask God to show you the “hole-fillers” in your life as we all continue on this journey together.

Leave a Reply

