Gardening.

What gets you up every day?
Why do you do what you do?

Have you pondered such questions? I know it’s usually my nine-year-old daughter that gets me up everyday…literally, she is a serious early bird.

I heard a story recently that I’ve embellished and made my own. Whether it is true or not is neither here nor there. I believe in it, we find great truth. It goes like this:

One find summer day, several pastors find themselves wandering through the grounds of a local conference center. Having just walked out of a compelling session on calling to ministry, they began a deep discussion.

As they strolled and talked, they came upon a man who was toiling away pulling weeds and gussying up the flower beds that surrounded the walking path. The discussion died down and one pastor commented to the gardener about how beautiful the flowers looked. “Thank you,” said the gardener. The other pastor couldn’t resist, so he presented the question they’d been discussing.

He said, “That must be hard work, but it is beautiful. Can I ask you a question?”

“Sure,” the gardener replied.

“If today was your last day to live, what would you do?”

The gardener smiled, brushed the dirt from his hands and stated emphatically, “I would garden.” Seeing the look of surprise mixed with doubt flash across the pastors face, he continued, “You see, if I’m not willing to do this on my last day to live, then why would I be willing to do it today.”

I love that story. We’ve all asked ourselves at some point, “If today was my last day on earth, what would I do?” Typically what follows is a bucket list of sorts:

  • Make sure my kids know I love them.
  • Reconcile with my brother.
  • Go skydiving.
  • Max out my credit card.

But seriously. These aren’t ways to live for today. This isn’t a reality show. It is real life. A life where we must discern how to live fully in today while trusting God for tomorrow. I will continue to process the story of the gardener and share it with others so each day affords the opportunity to be the day it was designed to be.

“…do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” – Jesus

One thought on “Gardening.

Leave a Reply

