3 Months!

Our sabbatical journey is just getting started. The question only a few people had the guts to ask, but I could see so many of you tip toeing around is this:

“Seriously, you’re going to do nothing for three months?”

It’s not really a funny question. I have been working with no more than a 2-3 week break between jobs since I was fourteen! I love work. I love to accomplish. I love to see vision become reality. I love the moment when it all comes together and you see the fruit of month’s worth of work right in front of you.

So, honestly, I don’t know what I’m going to do! As you read this we’re just starting our sabbatical journey. The first two weeks we will be spending time traveling and seeing the sights as well as visiting some friends while eating great food.

But what then? The next stage is to head to a small apartment with our suitcases stuffed with our only earthly belongings alongside a few security blanket items like peanut butter. We’re expecting to read a lot, laugh a lot, talk a lot and rest a lot. If all goes well, I hope to write a lot.

That will take us about seven weeks. Seven weeks, seven times seven, 49 days…that reason alone is why we consider this a grand adventure; an adventure with time. With great anticipation, we look forward to that time and to what God will teach us in it. Pray God reveals himself to our family in new ways. Pray we will experience the beauty of stopping everything and just being with God and each other. Pray I won’t be driven to accomplish things during this time. Pray we don’t go crazy!

Leave a Reply

