bored.

Kierkegaard said, “Boredom is the ultimate sin.” I agree…but only recently and after some reflection.

I realize I’ve often defined boredom as having nothing to do or doing nothing. In this sense Sabbath itself would be a sin and God it’s first offender. This is not so. Rather boredom is an attitude toward the current moment in time that says, “This moment of time has no value.” In this I agree, it is the ultimate sin.

Isn’t this what I am really saying when I’m tired in the evening and begin searching the DVR for something to wash away the minutes? Tragedy strikes when “I’m bored and there’s nothing to watch!”

We throw away the moments, incinerating them.
Up they go in smoke and ashes.
To absolve ourselves from boredom we do not fill our time with more hobbies, more work, and more menial or even nobler tasks. We don’t “more” at all.

We multitask.

Which is just a 21st Century version of more.
We multitask our way past boredom so that our eyes never close, our mind never stops – always churning, we chuckle at the idea of boredom.

I need to cultivate a new response to a moment with “nothing to do.” It begins by recognizing these moments are a gift and I must look for them and receive them with great openness.

I acknowledge the moment itself is of value.

I let the moment be, not filling it up or wasting it away. Recognizing this time, this moment here and now as holy, set apart…proclaiming the presence of God. With open hands we hold up our thoughts, conversations and stillness, each tick of the clock and movement of the sun testifying to the power, beauty and value of now.

Or I guess, I could be bored.

Leave a Reply

