30 days.

We’ve been here about a month now. 30 days. Days that vary from feeling like a tourist to almost imagining that we live here and this is normal life.

A normal day would be:

  • Sleeping until about 8 or 8:30am.
  • Darla returning from the local bakery about the same time.
  • Eating a simple breakfast of fresh bread with almond butter and green tea
  • Cleaning the kitchen
  • Kids do school with Darla
  • I begin writing
  • Reading
  • Rewriting
  • Reading a book
  • Reading the Bible
  • Walking two blocks to a local spot for a lunch of rice, beans, French fries, steak, linguica, chicken and watermelon for dessert
  • Walk back from lunch
  • Sweep the apartment
  • Read
  • Take a nap (only about once a week)
  • Play with the kids (most days on the beach)
  • Journal
  • Help make dinner
  • Read some more
  • Game with family or movie
  • Kids to bed
  • Darla and I talk, read, watch a movie
  • Sleep!

Some days (like yesterday) we go explore a local tourist attraction like the Cristo or discover a new beach or area of town. But even in those days we feel like we fit in. Although the faces I get when I tell people I don’t speak Portuguese…priceless! They never believe me and ramble on like I actually understand them. Then I start speaking English and they freak out.

I like it here. Most days perched on the patio reading and writing. I like to wander around the apartment, wander to the beach, and wander through the local stores. I like to wander in my mind. My thoughts are filled with Psalms, memories, missing friends, ideas for new businesses, images of God, words about fear and calm.

Each day makes way for the next. I don’t feel super spiritual by any means. But I’m certain I am in the middle of God’s love. He is showing me new things about how I love others. Not in big, revealing, cinematic ways – but rather small, subtle, daily ways. In the ordinary rather than the extraordinary. I like ordinary days. Each one seems to be astonishing in its common way.

Delight yourself in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him, and he will act.

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him;
fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way…

Fret not yourself, it tends only to evil.

                          <Psalm 37:4,5,7a,8b>

3 thoughts on “30 days.

  1. Todd; I have read every single post, looked at every picture, etc. Please know that I am praying for you, and I love to hear from you guys. You are missed at Coast Hills, tremendously so. I could certainly use a few days like you’ve described below. Sounds absolutely wonderful. Blessings, Cathy

    • Cathy,

      So good to hear from you! We miss you and so many others. God has been so good to us hear, but we are certainly far from home. Thanks for the prayers – they make all the difference in the world!

  2. Hey Todd…miss you guys, LOVE the pic of the family – Beautiful!!! I too love your writing (can’t wait for the book!!!) Give Darla and the kids a hug from me!!!

Leave a Reply

