Missing.

We’ve done a lot of missing these past couple months. We’ve missed things we are used to in our culture. Clothes dryers, large garbage cans, root beer, cold milk, common sense on when and where to shoot off fireworks, Mexican food and peanut butter. Oh, and customer service.

We’ve missed people. Our neighbors, friends, fellow believers at church, classmates and family.

We talk about what we will miss from Brazil. The pizza, beach, generous Brazilian friends, Guarana (a Brazilian soda), the warmth of the people, unadulterated and seemingly limitless time.

As our time here is drawing to a close we can’t help but reflect more specifically on a few of our Brazilian favorites.

Captivating thunderstorms where rain pours violently from the sky and lightening laces the clouds.

Stroganoff pizza. Brazilian stroganoff with sauce, steak and mushrooms layered over fresh Mozzerella, topped with Batata Fritas all on a wood fired crust. You have no idea what I’m talking about, but trust me – delectable.

One cannot describe the feeling of inexhaustible amounts of time with Darla and the kids. Time to joke, to talk about future careers, to discuss our biggest failures and our greatest successes. Time to pray together. Time to lay on the hammock for hours. Time to read as many books as you want. Time to play soccer on the beach or just lay on towel. Time to journal, talk, be silent, run, sleep, and time to eat.

Did I say hammocks? I’m going to miss hammocks.

We will always remember and forever hold as an example the great warmth, hospitality and generosity of both our Brazilian friends and complete strangers. Everywhere we’ve been (11 cities in 10 weeks) we find age-old friends or complete strangers who melt our hearts and blow my mind with their genuine personalities and generosity.

With all our missing of home and all our missing to come of Brazil, we stand at a new juncture and are excited to see what God will reveal to us. So we pray the words of A.W. Tozer in Pursuit of God in our own language…

O God be exalted over our possessions. Nothing will seem dear to me if you are glorified in my life.

Be exalted over my friendships. I am determined that you are above all, even if I am alone in all the earth.

Be exalted about my comforts. Though it means loss of bodily comfort and carrying a heavy cross, I keep my commitment to you.

Be exalted over my reputation. Make me ambitious to please you even if I sink into obscurity and my name be forgotten.

I exalt you God above my ambitions, my likes and dislikes, above my family, my health and even my life itself.

Let me decrease that You may increase.

 

Leave a Reply

