When you get there.

One of my least favorite phrases is one of my wife’s favorites. Regularly she tells me, “We’ll see what happens when we get there.” You can imagine the context. Every trip, vacation, adventure – even our date nights! It is truly an annoyance. I’m a planner. I don’t do anything spontaneous. I plan everything and all the details to go with it. Research abounds. I never wait to see, I play for every contingency and then execute. The outcome always falls within my realm of planning.

Romantic right!?

When I think of the idea that God is sovereign, I wonder if he is often trying to remind me, “You’ll see what happens when you get there.” Honestly…I’d rather know now. I don’t trust God or other people or the circumstances of life or even myself sometimes. I work hard to remain in control.

God doesn’t work that way.

He knows that the only way to be free from our concerns about what is to come is to let go. Focus on the moment at hand and let God work out the future. God is the ultimate planner. No matter how hard I work, God is the only one who truly knows every contingency, every time. In that I find great relief. Wouldn’t it be refreshing to know that someone else is looking ahead? And He knows! He gently reminds us in His sovereignty that we can’t see tomorrow today.

When I miss this, I end up losing sight of the today I can see. Essentially I go blind. Unable to see anything we stumble around in our own worries. God calls us to see. To live in His sovereignty and to let go while we remember “We will see…when we get there!”

Leave a Reply

