vision.

This morning I read the most powerful devotional from Oswald Chambers classic My Utmost for His Highest. You can read it in its entirety here.

I often find Chambers simple melodic writing to be an encouragement for my day. Some deem these and other daily devotionals as shallow or “bite-size” portions…well I don’t know a better way to eat a Brontosaurus and our spiritual lives can be dinosaurs sometimes.

Chambers begins the days reflection with the following statement:

“There is a difference between holding on to a principle and having a vision.”

What a beautiful thought.
Do I hold on to principles or have a vision of God and for God?

He goes on to say:

“Our own idealistic principles may actually lull us into ruin.”

I’ve seen this in the church, in my own life and in others. We cling so tightly to our ‘convictions’ that we find ourselves “eating out of our own hand.”

Today I’ve had to process and pray.
Am I holding on to my principles,
Or do I have a vision?

First a vision of God.
Next a vision for what God can do through me.

Let’s ask ourselves these two questions:

“Is our attitude today an attitude that flows from our vision of God?”
“Are we expecting God to do greater things than He has ever done before?”

Leave a Reply

