All of Everything.

Have you ever read these words?

“I have been crucified with Christ – it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me!”

They are found in Galatians, a book in the New Testament which is actually a letter written by Paul to a church in the First Century in Galatia (modern day Turkey). Read them again.

“I have been crucified with Christ – it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me!”

Now a harder question.
Do you believe these words?
Read them again.

“I have been crucified with Christ –
it is no longer I who live,
but Christ who lives in me!”

Now the hardest question of all.
Do you live these words?

These simple words have been a focal point as we pray to live into all God taught us in our time on sabbatical. They have been expressing themselves in two axioms.

All of Everything.
Oswald Chambers in his classic devotional My Utmost for His Highest wrote, “Our ordinary and reasonable service to God may actually compete against our total surrender to Him.”

It’s easy to think we are surrendering in our service to God or to buy into the belief that in working all day in full-time ministry that we are living in total surrender. Not necessarily.

We are asked for a
complete
total
full surrender.

That means we give up all rights, all we own, all we dream about, all of everything. It means we are crucified with Christ – we no longer live.

Scary?
Not when you realize it is now Christ who lives in you.
Complete freedom!

Thinking of myself less.
Timothy Keller in his book The Freedom of Self-Forgetfulness says, “Gospel-Humility is not thinking more of myself or thinking less of myself, it is thinking of myself less.”

This has become a practical application for realizing it is not I who live. Ironically the harder I try to think of myself less, the more I realize I am thinking about myself. It seems the key is to focus on the fact that Christ lives in me. So I am lost in Jesus living my life as if He were me. I decrease, Jesus increases.

When we give all of everything to Jesus, we die with Him but are given new life in Him.

A life like no other.

2 thoughts on “All of Everything.

  1. I also recently read that Timothy Keller book – his definition of gospel-humility really brings the concept home, helps us understad the freedom of focusing on Christ – nicely written, great blog!

Leave a Reply

